Architects

Every five years the ITA ranks the Top 50 Traditional Architects.

The ranking criteria are:
Consistently producing designs that are beautiful, practical, and respectful of their settings.

Architects are judged only on their work. The size of a practice, years of experience, contribution to and reputation within the industry are not taken into account. The list only contains practicing firms and architects, therefore some urban planners, preservationists, and professors may be noticeably absent. Where possible, individual architects were ranked. Where there was no way to differentiate between individual architects’ work, whole firms were ranked.

 

 2015 Top 50 Traditional Architects

Ranking Name or Practice Country Website
50 Maciej Mazgaj Poland www.architekturastylowa.pl
49 Atelier & Co USA www.atelierandcompany.com
48 Christopher Doyle Architects Australia www.christopherdoylearchitects.com
47 Robert Franklin UK www.robertfranklin.net
46 Jones and Boer Architects USA www.jonesboer.com
45 Julian Bicknell and Associates UK www.julianbicknell.co.uk
44 Michael Rouchell USA www.williamsarchitects.com
43 Neumann Lewis Buchanan Architects USA www.nlbarchitects.com
42 John Milner USA www.johnmilnerarchitects.com
41 Ben Pentreath and Associates UK www.benpentreath.com
40 Six Architects Netherlands www.six.nl
39 Christine Franck USA www.christinefranck.com
38 Ethan Anthony USA www.cramandferguson.com
37 Peter Zimmerman Architects USA www.pzarchitects.com
36 Michael G. Imber Architects USA www.michaelgimber.com
35 Ken Tate Architect USA www.kentatearchitect.com
34 Allan Greenberg USA www.allangreenberg.com
33 Liam O’Connor Architects UK www.liamoconnor.com
32 Robertson Partners USA www.robertsonpartners.net
31 Francis Johnson and Partners UK www.francisjohnson-architects.co.uk
30 Wadia Associates USA www.wadiaassociates.com
29 Larry E. Boerder Architects USA www.larryboerder.com
28 William T. Baker USA www.wtbaker.com
27 David Mayernik Ltd. USA www.davidmayernik.com
26 John Simpson UK www.johnsimpsonarchitects.com
25 Stanhope Gate Architecture UK www.stanhopegatearchitecture.com
24 Stephen Langer UK www.stephenlanger.co.uk
23 Duncan G. Stroik USA www.stroik.com
22 Michael Middleton Dwyer USA www.mmdarchitect.com
21 Norman Davenport Askins Architect USA www.normanaskins.com
20 Gilbert P. Schafer III USA www.gpschafer.com
19 Eric Stengel Architecture USA www.ericstengelarchitecture.com
18 Charles Hilton Architects USA www.hiltonarchitects.com
17 Historical Concepts USA www.historicalconcepts.com
16 Douglas VanderHorn Architects USA www.vanderhornarchitects.com
15 John B. Murray Architect USA www.jbmarchitect.com
14 Curtis & Windham Architects USA www.curtisandwindham.com
13 Abdel-Wahed El-Wakil Egypt www.awwakil.com
12 Demetri Porphyrios UK www.porphyrios.co.uk
11 Fairfax & Sammons Architects USA www.fairfaxandsammons.com
10 Franck and Lohsen Architects USA www.francklohsen.com
9 Eric J. Smith Architect USA www.ericjsmitharchitect.com
8 McCrery Architects USA www.mccreryarchitects.com
7 Peter Pennoyer USA www.ppapc.com
6 Ferguson & Shamamian Architects USA www.fergusonshamamian.com
5 George Saumarez Smith UK www.adamarchitecture.com
4 LeVaughn and Associates USA www.timothylevaughn.com
3 Andrew Skurman Architects USA www.skurman.com
2 Stephane Boens Belgium www.stephaneboens.be
1 Quinlan and Francis Terry UK www.qftarchitects.com

 

 

 

If you think you should be on the 2020 list, feel free to tell us why. We would love to hear from you!

Name*

Email*

Reason*

captcha